Compared in depth
Both are parent-taught phonics programs with scripted lessons, hands-on tiles or cards, and placement by skill rather than grade. The main difference is scope: All About Learning Press teaches reading and spelling as two separate programs, All About Reading and All About Spelling, while Logic of English combines phonics, spelling, grammar, and vocabulary in one course, with handwriting built into Foundations for younger children.
Written by the Homebuilt team from both publishers’ own materials, checked September 2026. This is a description of the differences, not a recommendation of either program.
| Fact | All About Reading | Logic of English |
|---|---|---|
| Grades | PreK-4 (Pre-reading plus Levels 1-4; placed by skill, not grade) | PreK-adult (Foundations ages 4-7; Essentials ages 8 and up) |
| Format | Print, Open-and-go teacher guide, Workbooks | Print, Open-and-go teacher guide, Workbooks, Online |
The All About Reading Level 1 Materials set includes one Teacher's Manual, one Student Packet with an activity book, flashcards, and stickers, and three readers. Letter Tiles are sold separately as a one-time purchase per household, and a Review Box for flashcards is needed for each student. Spelling is not part of All About Reading. It is a separate program, All About Spelling, sold in its own levels with its own Teacher's Manual and Student Packet. The same Letter Tiles kit covers both programs.
The Foundations A and Core Materials Bundle includes the Foundations A Teacher's Manual, a Student Workbook in manuscript or cursive, the book Doodling Dragons, the Foundations A Readers, and a Core Materials Set. Logic of English says the core materials, which include flash cards, reference charts, tactile cards, game cards, and game tiles, are reused across Foundations levels. Spelling and handwriting are taught inside Foundations, so no separate spelling program is needed. An online supplement for each level is sold separately.
Sources: www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · logicofenglish.com · logicofenglish.com
The parent teaches from what the publisher calls lightly scripted, open-and-go lessons, and it recommends about 20 minutes a day on reading. Lessons are multisensory and use letter tiles to build words, fluency pages of words, phrases, and sentences, and decodable stories. Word flashcards track what the child has mastered and what needs more practice. A lesson can take more than a day. Families who add All About Spelling spend a separate 20 minutes on it, where rules are shown with letter tiles and reviewed until mastered.
The parent teaches from scripted lessons with teacher tips. Phonograms and spelling rules are taught with flash cards, game tiles, tactile cards, and spelling analysis, and handwriting in cursive or manuscript is part of each Foundations lesson. Logic of English says lessons average about two days each and suggests teaching new material three to four days a week, with other days for review and games. It estimates about 25 to 30 minutes for a Foundations A lesson. Optional online lessons are available.
Sources: www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · logicofenglish.com · logicofenglish.com · logicofenglish.com
All About Reading has a Pre-reading program for preschoolers and kindergarteners, then Levels 1 to 4. The publisher says the level names do not match grades and a placement test decides where to start. Level 1 has 53 lessons and covers letter sounds A to Z plus consonant teams such as TH and SH. Levels 2, 3, and 4 add 12, 16, and 15 new phonograms. The publisher recommends waiting to start All About Spelling until after All About Reading Level 1, with an exception for older students who have struggled.
Foundations has four levels, A to D, for ages 4 to 7, and the lesson length grows from about 25 to 30 minutes in A to about 90 minutes in D. Most students take two to three years to finish all four. Essentials is for ages 8 to adult, runs Units 1 to 30 in about one to two years, and offers three levels of practice in each unit. Foundations teaches 75 basic phonograms and 19 spelling rules; Essentials adds 46 advanced phonograms and 31 rules in all. Essentials drops handwriting, and Foundations is not a prerequisite.
Sources: www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · logicofenglish.com · logicofenglish.com · logicofenglish.com
Basis: the first level for a child who is ready to learn letter sounds, as seen on the publisher's site in September 2026. All About Reading Level 1 Materials listed at $159.95, with no discount shown. Letter Tiles ($25.95, once per household) and a Review Box ($17.95, per student) are required and sold separately, for $203.85 in total. That covers reading only. All About Spelling Level 1 Materials listed at $64.95, and the publisher suggests starting it after Level 1 of reading. Prices change, so check the publisher for the current figure.
Same basis: the Foundations A and Core Materials Bundle listed at $251.86 and was shown at $226.67, marked 10% off, in September 2026. That price includes reading, spelling, and handwriting for the level, plus core materials Logic of English says are reused in later Foundations levels, which is why later bundles cost less (Foundations B was shown at $104.36). The optional Foundations A Online Supplement is $19.99 more. Prices change, so check the publisher for the current figure.
Sources: www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · logicofenglish.com · logicofenglish.com
All About Learning Press says All About Reading is used by students of all ages, including pre-readers, teens, and adults, and that it is very effective for struggling learners. It places children by ability rather than age. The publisher keeps reading and spelling separate so a child can move through reading as quickly as possible while taking as long as needed with spelling. It tends to fit families who want short daily reading lessons and are comfortable buying spelling as its own program.
Logic of English recommends Foundations for ages 4 to 7 and Essentials for ages 8 to adult, and says either can suit a 7 or 8 year old depending on the child. It describes Essentials as serving struggling readers, strong readers who struggle with spelling, and proficient readers who want to understand how written English works. It says its materials help parents teach in one-on-one settings. It tends to fit families who want phonics, spelling, and grammar taught together in one course.
Sources: www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · www.allaboutlearningpress.com · logicofenglish.com · logicofenglish.com · logicofenglish.com
| Fact | All About ReadingAll About Learning Press | Logic of EnglishLogic of English |
|---|---|---|
| Grades | PreK-4 (Pre-reading plus Levels 1-4; placed by skill, not grade) | PreK-adult (Foundations ages 4-7; Essentials ages 8 and up) |
| Faith | Not stated | Not stated |
| Format | Print, Open-and-go teacher guide, Workbooks | Print, Open-and-go teacher guide, Workbooks, Online |
| Prep for the parent | Open-and-go | Open-and-go |
| Who teaches | Parent-taught | Parent-taught |
| Price | Per level: complete level sets about $159.95; Teacher's Manuals up to $50.95; Student Packets up to $67.95; Letter Tiles a one-time purchase per household (publisher site, Sept 2026) | Priced per level and component (teacher's guide, workbooks, games, optional online course); see publisher |
| Subjects | Reading | Reading, Spelling, Grammar, Handwriting |
| Style | Orton-Gillingham, Mastery-based | Structured literacy |
| What it is | A phonics-based reading program in five levels, from Pre-reading through Level 4. The parent reads from a scripted teacher's manual and uses letter tiles, games, and decodable readers; the publisher plans about 20 minutes of lesson time a day, plus separate read-aloud time. | A phonics, spelling, and grammar program built on 75 phonograms and 31 spelling rules, based on Denise Eide's book Uncovering the Logic of English. Foundations (Levels A-D) is for ages 4-7 and includes handwriting; Essentials covers the same content at a faster pace for ages 8 and up. Lessons are scripted and use flash cards, games, and optional online video lessons. |
| Checked | September 2026 · From the publisher | September 2026 · From the publisher |
| Publisher | Visit the publisher ↗︎ | Visit the publisher ↗︎ |
Photography by Bryndle Photo